Basil D’Oliveira Trophy 2019-20 – First Test

7th Edition is going to start of Basil D’Oliveira Trophy, the trophy is played for the test series in cricket between England and South Africa. It was started in 2004-05 season, when England was visiting South Africa. Out of the 6 version, England won 3 and South Africa won 2, and one concluded in draw. The interesting fact is, South Africa never won a single trophy as host, even England also won their first ever series as host in 2017, the recently concluded one. Before 2017, Host was never able to won a series, series was either won by the guest or concluded in draw.

South Africa started to play test and test series since 19th century, and while playing against England, before its reinstated in International cricket, England had upper hand and won 17 series out of 24 and the opponent won only 5 series, but after reinstated in 1992, the proteas (South African Cricket Team) match themselves with english team, and both the teams won 4 series with matching the draw series as well out of 12. Regarding Basil D’Oliveira, again England has little bit upper hand.

The current series is going to start with Centurion test, which is going to play at SuperSport Park. The ground favors first batting team and last time, when home team chose to field first after winning the toss, and still able to manage to win the match in 2011, after that the team, who bat first, was able to win the match, though in 3 scenarios, the team chose to field first after winning the toss, but they needed to receive the defeat at the end.

South Africa has very good record on this ground, where they needed to face the defeat only twice, in 24 matches and that many years as well. This is 6th encounter between England and South Africa, and England provided a good fight on this ground, as Home team only managed just one victory out of 5 match and same for the visitors, while other 3 matches resulted in draw. Last time England won the match on this ground in 2000, the famous test, where the actual winner was the Cricket, when England declared their first inning at 0/0 (o run and 0 wicket), on the other hand South Africa forfeited their second inning just to achieve result.

The current series could be very interesting, as South Africa is facing the difficulties due to their transforming period, but the team has home advantage, on the other hand, England looks strong team on paper, but it has difficulty in batting. South Africa has little better chance to win their first home Trophy.

Tentative Teams,

South Africa Eleven: D. Elgar, A. Markram, F. du Plessis, R. van der Dussen, Z. Hamza, T. Bavuma, Q. de Kock, V. Philander, K. Rabada, K. Maharaj, A. Nortje

England Eleven: J. Denly, R. Burns, J. Root, O. Pope, J. Bairstow, B. Stokes, J. Butler, S. Curren, J. Archer, S. Broad, J. Anderson

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →