Pink Sydney Test 2020

Pink Test

Pink Sydney Test 2020 – Trans-Tasman Trophy 2019-20 – Third Test

The third and last test of Trans-Tasman Trophy 2019-20 is going to play at the SCG (Sydney Cricket Ground), Sydney, Australia.

The test is famously called Pink Sydney Test, which was hosted first time in 2009, where Australia met South Africa in test, in honor of late Jane McGrath, who died in 2008, wife of Australian pacer Glen McGrath, one of the all time great bowlers.

The Sydney test is one of the events to raise the fund for McGrath foundation to achieve the goals of placing the specialist McGrath breast care nurses, wherever, they are needed in Australia, as well as the awareness of the breast cancer. The foundation was started by McGrath couple in 2005. The third day of the test is called ‘Jane McGrath Day’.

The color of the stumps, boundary ropes, advertising screens, ribbon on the umpire’s caps are pink through out the test, but on the third day, Glen McGrath gives the pink colored caps to all the players. Even the audience prefers to wear pink color dress on the third day.

New Zealand and Australia play against each other since almost last 75 years, but this is just the third opportunity for New Zealand to play on SCG in test match. Last time the team played here 34 years ago, in 1985, when they faced to defeat by 4 wickets, and the first ever test between two opponents concluded in the draw. New Zealand has good opportunity to make their first victory on the ground.

Though, New Zealand already lost the series, but the series and each of its tests are part of ICC World Test Championship 2019-21, so every test match has its own significance due to the point. Because this test series contains 3 test, so each match weighs 40 points.

Usually Sydney pitch favors batsmen as well as spinners, so both the teams would think about including at least one spinner in final eleven, but chances are very less to include second one as well, New Zealand have one forced change, as T. Boult has the fracture on his hand. Australia might go with the unchanged team. Both the teams could used their part times as the second spinner, like K. Williamson for New Zealand, and M. Labuschagne and S. Smith for Australia. Teams prefers here to bat first after winning the toss.

The tentative eleven for both the teams,

New Zealand Eleven: T. Latham, T. Blundell, K. Williamson, R. Taylor, H. Nicholls, C. de Grandhomme, BJ Watling, M. Santner, T. Southee, N. Wagner, M. Henry

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, J. Burns, M. Labuschagne, S. Smith, M. Wade, T. Head, T. Paine, P. Cummins, M. Starc, J. Pattinson, N. Lyon

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →