India vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 1st ODI

India vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 1st ODI

Australia Tour of India History

This is going to be twelfth bilateral series between India and Australia. Australia has over all upper hand, as the visiting team lifted 6 series trophy, while host got chance to lift only 5 times. Out of eleven, though, two of them were in Australia and nine were in India. Both the teams won one-each series in Australia. Interestingly, Australia won the series, which was played last time in 2019, even after losing first two ODIs.

Victory brings points:

Currently, the host is at the second rank in ODI, whereas visitors at the 4th rank. In that case, both the teams wants to win just not the series but also raise their points in the point table. India wants to reach near the first ranked England, on the other hand, Australia wants to raise their position as well.

Venue Weather:

Mumbai weather for tomorrow looks pretty clear for match to play. Teams prefer to choose batting after winning toss on the run-fest pitch, though, the team, with batting first, twice won the match in last 5 ODI at the venue. By the way, this is going to be only second ODI and after 32 years of the first ODI, which is going to be played in month of January.

History Between the Teams:

142 ODIs were played between the teams. India won 50, whereas visitors won 77. In India, both the team faced each other 66 times, where again, visiting team has upper hand with 29 victories, where host has nearly equals victories, 27.

ODI History at Venue:

The teams played 4 ODIs at the venue and Australia won 2, and India won 1, the last ODI was abandoned without a toss.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


As, the pitch usually favors batting, the home team might prefer to have 3 seamer and one spinner, also may include shiva dube for his medium pace ability, the team may have confusion of having two spinners and two seamers or 3-1 ratio.

India Eleven: S. Dhawan, RG Sharma, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, R. Pant, K. Jadhav, S. Dube / R. Jadeja, S. Thakur, K. Yadav, M. Shami, J. Bumrah


The visitors also might prefer to go with 3 seamers and two spinners.

Australia Eleven: A. Finch, D. Warner, S. Smith, P. Handscomb, A. Turner, A. Carey, D’Archy Short / A. Agar, P. Cummins, M. Starc, K. Richardson, A. Zampa

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →