India vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 3rd ODI

India vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 3rd ODI

Australia Tour of India History

The 3rd ODI is going to be, 5th overall and 4th in India, decider of the series between the teams. Both teams put two each in their pocket. But visitors have little upper hand as out of four, three times host needed to face defeat, and only time, when host celebrated the series victory through the decider, was in 2013, when Australia visited India. But two other times, when Australia visited India, Australia brought the series trophy. 

Victory brings points:

Though, both the teams stay on the same point as before the series, but decider will change the situation, and one of the team will lose one point through defeat, and the other team will get one more point with the series win, if the match will be completed with a result. The position of the teams will not be changed in the point table.

Venue Weather:

Bangaluru weather forecast shows the weather could be partly cloudy, but no chance for rain. The humidity could be increased in the late evening and at night. Teams prefer to chose bat first, except some rare situations, after winning the toss on the run-fest pitch.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other on the venue 7 times, where home-side won 4 matches and lost two. BTW, the visitors played here two more match against other teams and won both of them. Moreover, the ground is remembered for Rohit Sharma’s first double hundred and six hitting record at the time (16 sixes in the inning). As well,  Australian team witnessed the only double hundred by a player (out of eight times), when Rohit Sharma hit 209 run in 2013 tour.

ODI History at Venue:

The home side has good record at the ground and won 13 out of 20 encounters and lost only 5, whereas one was (famously) tied against England in WC 2011, and one called off without any result.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


On the run-fest pitch, host prefer to have fast bowlers, but also couldn’t ignore the spinners. Team might go with the same combination with six batsmen, one all-rounder, three pacers and one spinner, but chance for no change as well.

India Eleven: S. Dhawan, RG Sharma, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, K. Rahul, K. Jadhav / M. Pandey, S. Dube / R. Jadeja, N. Saini, K. Yadav, M. Shami, J. Bumrah


The visitors also might prefer to go with same combination or possibly the same XI.

Australia Eleven: A. Finch, D. Warner, S. Smith, M. Labuschagne, A. Turner, A. Carey, A. Agar, P. Cummins, M. Starc, K. Richardson, A. Zampa

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →