Basil D’Oliveira Trophy – Forth Test

Basil D’Oliveira Trophy – Forth Test

Forth Test:

The forth test of Basil D’Oliveira trophy is going to play at The Wanderers stadium, Johannesburg. South Africa is already behind in the series by 1-2 and lost the chance to win the series, but the team could try to win the forth test not just to draw the series but also get points in the point table of the ICC World Test Championship. 


The home side needs to wait for some more time to win the Basil D’Oliveira trophy at home, but the team could try to retain their points as well as the rank in the ICC point table, whereas the visiting team will try to win the series either by 3-1 by winning the test to reach the 3rd position from the current (5th) or by 2-1 by drawing the test and reach on the 4th place. If South Africa will win the test, then both the teams will stay on the same position

Weather, Toss and Pitch:

Weather shows there would be thunder-storm on first day and chances of rain on the 2nd and 3rd day, no rainy forecast on 4th and 5th day as of now. Teams prefer to bat first most of the time, after winning the toss. As per history, team, which batted first, had advantage to win the test, but teams, who batted second, had won 10 times out of 40, and the match resulted into draw in 11 times.

History Between the Teams:

The venue is neutral for both the teams, as well draw result, as both the teams won matches three times, and the matches resulted draw three times as well. After reinstatement of South Africa in 1992, again both the teams won twice here out of five encounters.

History at the Venue:

The host has average record on the ground, as the team won 17 test matches here and received defeat 12 times out of 40. After the reinstatement, the home side won the test 13 times and lost 10 times out of 29 plays.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:

South Africa:

The home team has one forced change, and team might go with second and could give chance to either T. Bavuma or R. Second.

South Africa Eleven: D. Elgar, T. Bavuma F. du Plessis, P. Malan, R. van der Dussen, Q. de Kock, A. Phehlukwayo, V. Philander, D. Paterson, K. Maharaj, A. Nortje


The visitors would like to go with unchanged XI.

England Eleven: Z. Crawley, D. Sibley, J. Denly, J. Root, O. Pope, B. Stoked, J. Buttler, S. Curren, D. Bess, S.Broad, M. Wood

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →