India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 1st T20I

T20I Series

India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 1st T20I

Match Information:

India and New Zealand teams are going to play their first match of the T20I series of 5 matches at Eden Park, Auckland, which is witnessed of highest number of tie matches in T20I, till date. In fact, the first match as well as the last tied match, till date, were also at the venue. The venue is also remembered for witnessing first ever T20I.

This is going to be the fifth series between the teams, in which the home team won three series and the visitors got just one chance, moreover the home side won both the series at home against the Indian team.

Teams faced each other 12 times in T20I and New Zealand won 8 times, whereas India won only 3 times out of 12. On the soil of New Zealand, Indian team won only one T20I out of 5 encounters.

Point Table:

New Zealand team is at the minimum risk for the series, as if the team will lose the series, the team will lose the points but not going to lose the rank. On the other side, the visiting team needs to be more careful, as the team have chances for either not just increase the points but also the position or losing both.

Weather, Toss and Pitch:

Weather looks pretty clear, as well the temperature would be pretty normal,  and precipitation percentage would be very less as of now. Teams preferred to field first on the run-fest pitch after winning the toss, 11 times out of 19. The venue has record of highest chase of 245 in T20I, so at one hand, there is no safe score, but on the other hand, the lowest defendable total was 165. Team, who won the toss, won match only 5 times and lost 11 times. Teams, with the bat first, won the match 8 times and same for the field first.

Team History:

Both the teams played only one match at the venue and India won that match, the only victory on the New Zealand soil.

Venue History:

The home team has poor record with played 19 match at the venue, pretty good experience of the pitch, but won only 6, with three tied match and 10 defeats.

Tentative XI for both the teams:

New Zealand: The home team might go with 5 bowler on the run-fest ground, though, two of them are bowling all-rounders, and include C. de Grandhomme as the sixth bowler.

New Zealand Eleven: C. Munro, M. Guptill,  K. Williamson, R. Taylor, T. Seifert, C. de Grandhomme, M. Santner, S. Kuggeleijn, T. Southee, I. Sodhi, H. Bennett

India: The visitors would like to go with the experience team for the first match with 5 bowler strategy, one of them is bowling all-rounder.

Indian Eleven: RG Sharma, KL Rahul, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, R. Pant, M. Pandey, R. jadeja, K. Yadav, M. Shami, N. Saini, J. Bumrah

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →