India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 3rd T20I

T20I Series

India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 3rd T20I

Match Information:

India and New Zealand teams are going to play their third match of the T20I series of 5 matches at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

This is going to be the fifth series between the teams, but the first series, when India has 2-0 lead in the series.

Teams faced each other 14 times in T20I and New Zealand won 8 times, whereas India improved the record and won only 5 times.

Point Table:

Next victory for visitors will bring one rank jump for the team, and victory for the home side will bring two point jump for the team.


There is possibility of rain on the match day, but in the morning, but no chance for rain in the weather forecast as of now, the temperature would pretty normal and precipitation percentage would be very low. 

Toss and Pitch:

Teams might take decision after inspecting the pitch, though, Teams preferred to field first on the run-fest pitch after winning the toss, 5 times out of 9, although the decision became boomerang, and toss winning team, who chose field first, lost the match 4 times. Those Teams, who won the toss, won match only twice and lost 7 times. Teams, with the bat first, won the match 5 times and 4 times for the field first, in which team won the match by 10 wickets, twice. 

Lowest defendable total was 185 on the venue, whereas, highest successful chase total was 202. Interestingly, last two encounters were very close at the team won by 4 run and by 2 runs in last and previous one, respectively. The first inning lowest score was 78, whereas highest was 212, and the second complete inning lowest total was 137 and highest was 208.

Team History:

Both the teams played only one match at the venue and New Zealand won that match, Though, the match was so close and winner won the match by just 4 runs only.

Venue History:

The home team has excellence record with 7 victory out of 9, lost just 2 matches and one of them was very close that the home side lost the match by just 2 runs.

Tentative XI for both the teams:

New Zealand: The home team might go with some change, and may include D. Mitchell in place of C. de Grandhomme, and S. Kuggeleijn in place of H. Bennett.

New Zealand Eleven: C. Munro, M. Guptill,  K. Williamson, R. Taylor, T. Seifert, D. Mitchell, M. Santner, S. Kuggeleijn, T. Southee, I. Sodhi, B. Tickner

India: The visitors would like to go unchanged XI.

Indian Eleven: RG Sharma, KL Rahul, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, S. Dube, M. Pandey, R. jadeja, Y. Chahal M. Shami, S. Thakur, J. Bumrah

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →