India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 4th T20I

T20I Series

India vs New Zealand T20 Series 2020 – 4th T20I

Match Information:

India and New Zealand teams are going to play their forth T20I of the series of 5 matches at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

This is going to be the fifth series between the teams, but the first series, when India didn’t lose a single match out of three, yet, as well, this is first time, when India is undefeated in consecutive three T20Is against New Zealand.

Teams faced each other 15 times in T20I and New Zealand won 8 times, whereas India won 5 times, though the recent one was resulted into tie, but in which, visitors fetched the super over in favor of the team, and so, won the series, first time in New Zealand and second time overall.

Point Table:

Victory will bring the points for both the team and defeat will decrease their points, but India is on more risk of losing the position, in case of defeats in remaining matches. New Zealand will stay on the 6th position, in case of any combination of victory and defeat out of four cobination.


There is pretty clear weather forecast, as of now, during match time, the temperature would pretty normal and precipitation percentage would be very low. 

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to field first on the pitch after winning the toss, which is 8 times out of 11, although the decision became boomerang for the visitors, and toss winning team, who chose field first, lost the match 4 times out of 5 times. Teams, who won the toss, won match only 4 times and lost 7 times. Batting first Teams won the match 4 times and 7 times for the field first. Particularly for New Zealand, when the team won the toss and chose to bat first, the team never won the match, and never lost, when field first, either winning the toss or losing, till date.

Lowest defendable total was 176 on the venue, whereas, highest successful chase total was 163. The first inning lowest score was 105, whereas highest was 219, and the second complete inning lowest total was 101 and highest was 184. Average first inning score is 150, and 134 for the second inning. Batting average for the first inning is 22.94 and for second inning is 23.71

Team History:

Both the teams played only two matches at the venue and New Zealand won both the times, First encounter was so close, where New Zealand won the match by 5 wickets but on the last ball, whereas, the second match was won by New Zealand by 80 runs.

Venue History:

The home team has excellent record with 8 victories out of 11, lost just 3 matches and the team’s last defeat was before 6 matches in 2013, the home side won last 6 encounters at the ground.

Tentative XI for both the teams:

New Zealand: The home team have one forced change, as C. de Grandhomme is not included in 4th and 5th T20Is. And, so the team may include D. Mitchell as an all-rounder.

New Zealand Eleven: C. Munro, M. Guptill,  K. Williamson, R. Taylor, T. Seifert, D. Mitchell, M. Santner, S. Kuggeleijn, T. Southee, I. Sodhi, H. Bennett / B. Tickner

India: The visitors may give chance to the bench strength, though the team would prefer to go with the winning XI in general, and may give chance to N. Saini in place of S. Thakur or K. Yadav in place of Y. Chahal or S. Samson in place of M. Pandey, but the team would like to change not more than couple.

Indian Eleven: RG Sharma, KL Rahul, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, S. Dube, M. Pandey / S. Samson, R. jadeja, Y. Chahal, M. Shami, S. Thakur / N. Saini, J. Bumrah

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →