South Africa vs England T20I series 2020 – 2nd T20I

T20I Series

South Africa vs England T20I series 2020 – 2nd T20I

2nd T20I:

The second T20I of the T20 series of 3 T20I is going to be played at the Kingsmead, Durban.

England Tour of South Africa History

Both the teams faced each other 17 times, in which South Africa won 9 matches, whereas, England won 6 matches, out of remaining two, one was called off without any result and one was abandoned. 

In South Africa, both the teams met in T20I 6 times, and the visitors won only one, which is back in 2009, whereas, the host won remaining 5.

Victory brings points:

The series would be very interesting to both the opponents, after first T20I of the series, currently, South Africa is on the 3rd positions with 265 points and England is on the 5th position with 263 points. Due to lost in first encounter, England already lost the chance to be the top of the ranking table, but the host has still chance to be the second in the ranking table, while beating visitors by 3-0.

Now, in the second meeting between the teams, If it will be won by South Africa, then the teams will stay on the current position, as South Africa will gain two points and England will lose 2, but, in case, England will win, then the teams, again, will swap their position with each other, and come to the position, on which, they were before the series, as the home side will lose 3 points and visitors will earn 2.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast of the Durban shows the weather would be partly cloudy throughout the match. Due to expected extremely low precipitation percentage, the chances of rain would be extremely low, and the wind would be, as well. The temperature would be pretty normal.

Toss and Pitch:

The teams preferred to field first after winning the toss, 9 times out of 14 times. And the teams won 4 times after selecting to field and lost thrice, while one concluded in tie and another without any result. On the other hand, the teams, who chose to bat first, after winning the toss, 5 times, and won thrice, but lost twice. 7 times, the teams won the match, after winning the toss, and lost 5 times.

Particularly, for South Africa, the team won the toss just twice in 7 opportunities, but never lost the match, after winning the toss. Surprisingly, the team won the toss against the only team, New Zealand, and never tried to put the target. 

The first batting team won the matches 6 times, and same for, the team, who batted second.

The lowest defended total was 153, in 2007 WT20, and the highest successful chase was 158 runs (twice by the host) on the venue. 

The first inning lowest total was 73, and the highest total was 218 runs, both in WT20 2007. For the second inning, the lowest total was 116, whereas highest was 200 runs, again, both in WT20 2007.

Average score of the first inning at the venue is 148 runs, and 134 runs for the second innings (DLS was used in some matches). The batting average for the first inning is 21.44 and 21.81 is for the second inning.

History Between the Teams:

The teams never met each other in T20I on the ground, the up coming encounter will be the first one. But the visitors played twice with the other opponents, and lost both the encounters.

T20I History at Venue:

The home side has extremely good record, as the team won 5 matches and lost just twice, one match was abandoned without toss.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:

South Africa:

The host would go with unchanged XI or with just a change to include R. Hendricks in place of D. Pretorius.

South Africa Eleven: Q de Kock, D. Pretorius / R. Hendricks, T. Bavuma, R van der Dussen, D. Miller, JJ Smuts, A. Phehlukwayo, B. Hendricks, D. Steyn, T. Shamsi, L. Ngidi  


The visitors might go with couple of changes with inclusion of D. Malan and S. Curran in place of J. Denly or M. Ali and M. Wood or T. Curran, respectively.

England Eleven: J. Roy, J.Butler, D. Malan, E. Morgan, J. Bairstow, B. Stokes, J. Denly / M. Ali, S. Curran, C. Jordan, A. Rashid, T. Curran / M. Wood

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →