South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 2nd ODI

ODI Series

South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 2nd ODI

2nd ODI:

Second ODI of the series of three ODI matches between South Africa and Australia is going to be played at the Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein.

Australia Tour of South Africa History:

The teams completed 101 meetings in long limited over format. Out of 101 encounters, host won 49 times and visitors won one less. Whereas, achieved tied result thrice, and one was called off without any result.

On the soil of South Africa, the teams faced each other 44 times. out of them, the South African team won 23 times, and Australian team won 20 times and one was concluded into tie.

Victory brings points:

The series is the comparison between the forth rank (South Africa) and fifth rank (Australia) team. The host is just couple points ahead of the visitors.

If the second ODI result will go in favor of the home side, the home side will gain a point. On the other hand, the visitors will lose a points. But, if the result will go in favor of visitors, then the winner will stay on the same points, but the opponent will lose a point.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast of the Bloemfontein shows the weather would be pretty clear throughout the match, and no rain would be expected, as the precipitation percentage would be almost zero. The temperature would be normal and in twenties. The wind would be pretty low.

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 21 times out of 29, and the teams won half the times after selecting the first batting and lost same times. One match was concluded without any result. On the other hand, the teams who chose to fielding first, after winning the toss, won the matches four times and lost thrice. One match result was tie. Overall, 14 times the teams, won the toss, won the matches and lost one less number of times.

Particularly, for South Africa, the team won the toss 13 times out of 23 times, and the teams won the match 9 times and lost just thrice with one tie. 

The first batting team won the matches 13 times, whereas, the teams, who batted second, won the matches just one more time.

The lowest defended total was 198, and the highest successful chase was 265 runs on the venue in 1996. 

The first inning lowest total was 90, again the total from a non test playing nation, Kenya, in 2001, and the highest total was 399 runs. For the second inning, the lowest total was 78 (completed innings), whereas highest was 287 run.

The average first innings total at the venue is 241, and for the second innings is 194.

The batting average of the first innings is 32.82 and 32.02 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other thrice on the venue. The upcoming encounter will be the forth one between the teams. The host won just once and the visitors won twice. The visitors won the toss in all three meetings, and twice the team chose bat first and won both the games, and once chose field first and lost the match. All three encounters was won by the team, who batted first. The last time, when the teams met on the venue, was in 2002. 

ODI History at Venue:

The home side has excellent record at the venue, and won 15 matches out of 23 encounters and lost only 7 with one tie. In last 11 encounters, the host lost just once.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:

South Africa:

The home side would go for winning combination.

South Africa Eleven: J. Malan / J. Smuts, Q. de Kock, , T. Bavuma, K. Verreynne, H. Klaasen, D. Miller, A. Phehlukwayo, A. Nortje, L. Ngidi, T. Shamsi, K. Maharaj / B. Hendricks


The visitors would prefer to go with three pacers with two spinner, as the team has one medium pace all-rounder, as the sixth bowling option.

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, A. Finch, M. Labuschagne, S. Smith, A. Carey, M. Marsh, A. Agar / D. Short, M. Starc, P. Cummins, A. Zampa, K. Richardson / J. Hazlewood

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →