South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 3rd ODI

ODI Series

South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 3rd ODI

3rd ODI:

Third and last ODI of the series of three ODI matches between South Africa and Australia is going to be played at the Senwes Park, Potchefstroom. Last time the venue was used for the ODI in 2015.

Australia Tour of South Africa History:


South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2020 – 1st ODI

The teams completed 102 meetings in long limited over format. Out of 102 encounters, host won 50 times and visitors won two less. Whereas, achieved tied result thrice, and one without any result.

On the soil of South Africa, the teams faced each other 45 times. Out of them, the South African team won 24 times, and Australian team won 20 times. The one was concluded into tie, which was on the venue.

Victory brings points:

The series is the comparison between the forth rank (South Africa) and fifth rank (Australia) team.

If the last ODI result will go in favor of the home side, the home side will gain a point. On the other hand, the visitors will lose a points, and vice versa.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast of the Potchefstroom shows the weather would be pretty clear and sunny throughout the match. No rain would be expected, as the precipitation percentage would be almost zero. The temperature would be normal and in twenties. The wind would be pretty low.

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 11 times out of 18. But selection didn’t favor, as the teams won four times after selecting the first batting and lost six times. One match result was tie. On the other hand, the teams who chose to fielding first, after winning the toss, won the matches thrice and lost thrice as well. One match was without any result. Overall, 7 times the teams, won the toss, won the matches and lost 9 times.

Particularly, for South Africa, the team won the toss 5 times out of 9 times, and the teams won the match thrice and lost just once with one tie. The team always chose to bat first after winning toss till date.

The first batting team won the matches 7 times, whereas, the teams, who batted second, won the matches 9 time.

The lowest defended total was 197, though DLS used to calculate the target, and match was shortened to 36 overs. The highest successful chase was 273 runs on the venue in 2010. 

The first inning lowest total was 140, the total from a non test playing nation, Kenya, in 2003, and the highest total was 418 runs. For the second inning, the lowest total was 45, again the total from a non test playing nation, Namibia, in 2003. Whereas highest was 273 run.

The average first innings total at the venue is 252( the score of the no result match was not calculated, but DLS score is part of the calculation). For the second innings is 207 (DLS target is part of the calculation).

The batting average of the first innings is 33.08 and 35.19 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other just once on the venue. Interestingly, the result of the meeting was tie. The last time, when the teams met on the venue, was in 2002. 

The visitors played two more games against different opponents and won both the game. The visiting team is going to play the game after 17 years, as the team played the match last time in 2003 and won the game by the largest margin by runs at that time, though against non test playing nation.

ODI History at Venue:

The home side has an excellent record at the venue, and won 6 matches out of 9 encounters and lost just once, though the last played one, with one tie.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:

South Africa:

The home side would try its bench strength.

South Africa Eleven: J. Malan , Q. de Kock, , J. Smuts / T. Bavuma, K. Verreynne, H. Klaasen, D. Miller, A. Phehlukwayo, A. Nortje, L. Sipamla, K. Maharaj, B. Hendricks


The visitors would prefer to go with three pacers with a spinner combination, as the team has one medium pace all-rounder, as the fifth bowling option.

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, A. Finch, D. Short, S. Smith, M. Wade, M. Marsh, A. Carey, A. Agar , M. Starc, P. Cummins, K. Richardson

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →