Australia vs New Zealand ODI series 2020 – 1st ODI

ODI Series

Australia vs New Zealand ODI series 2020 – 1st ODI

1st ODI:

First ODI of the series of three ODI matches between Australia and New Zealand is going to be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), Sydney on March 13th 2020.

New Zealand Tour of Australia History:

This is going to be eighteenth bilateral series between the teams. Australia has upper hand, as the team won 9 series and lost 4, whereas, four were concluded into draw.

When touring Australia by New Zealand team, then as well, the host has upper hand. Out of 5 ODI bilateral series, the home side won twice and the visitors won just once, which was in 1982-83, 38 years back, and two was resulted into draw.

The teams completed 157 meetings in long limited over format. The host won 91 times, whereas opponent won just 39 times with 7 games without any result.

On the soil of Australia, the teams faced each other 64 times. out of them, the Australian team won 42 times, and New Zealand team won just 18 times with 4 games without any result.

Victory brings points:

The series is the comparison between the third rank (New Zealand) and fifth rank (Australia) team. The host is eight points behind the visitors.

The host could increase the point for the team through series victory only, and stay on the same point in case of the draw, as the result of the series. In case of defeating the series, the host will lose the points. In any result of the series, the team will stay on the same position. 

The visiting team is at the similar situation as the host in terms of points, but if the team will lose the series without any win, then the team will drop down from the current ranking. On the other hand, in terms of three-nil series win, the team will gain one position and will reach on the second rank, just ahead of team India.

The first ODI result will go in favor of the home side, the home side will gain a point, and the visitors will lose one. And, vice-versa in case of opposite result. The teams will stay on their current positions.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast of the Sydney shows the weather would be pretty clear throughout the match. No rain would be expected, as the precipitation percentage would be almost zero. The temperature would be normal and in twenties. The wind would be little high around 20km/h.

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 104 times out of 156, and the selection favored the teams, as the teams won 58 times after selecting the first batting but lost 42 times, as well, with 4 games without any result. On the other hand, the teams who chose to field first, after winning the toss, won the matches only 20 times and lost 29 times with 3 matches without any result. Overall, 78 times the teams, won the toss, won the matches and lost 71 times.

Particularly, for Australia, the team won the toss 61 times out of 131 times, and the teams won 43 times and lost just 15 times with 3 matches without any result. 

The first batting team won the matches 87 times, whereas, the teams, who batted second, won the matches 62 times.

The lowest defended total was 138 (completed inning / 50 overs), though, it happened in 2001, and the highest successful chase was 334 runs on the venue in 2011. 

The first inning lowest total was 63, though in 1981, and, and the highest total was 408 runs in ODI World Cup 2015. For the second inning, the lowest total was 69, though in 1993, whereas highest was 334 runs in 2011.

The batting average of the first innings is 28.77 and 26.73 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other 22 times on the venue. Out of those 22 times, host won 14 times and visitors won 6 times, whereas two encounters were concluded without any result. The visiting team played other 7 games with different opponents and the team won just once and lost 5 times with 1 without any result. Overall, the visiting team played 29 games on the venue and won just 7 times. Last time, the team won in 2002, 18 years back, against the host.

ODI History at Venue:

The home side has excellent record at the venue, and won 86 matches out of 131 encounters and lost only 39 times with 6 without any result.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


The home side would go with the pacers on the batting friendly pitch.

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, A. Finch, M. Labuschagne, S. Smith, A. Carey, M. Marsh, D’Arcy Short / A. Agar, M. Starc, P. Cummins, A. Zampa, J. Hazlewood

New Zealand:

The visitors would like to go with pacers with one spinner combination, as the team has couple medium pace all-rounders, as bowling options.

New Zealand Eleven: M. Guptill, T. Blundell, K. Williamson, R. Taylor, H. Nicholls, J. Neesham, C. de Grandhomme, M. Santner, K. Jamieson, T. Southee, T. Boult

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →