England vs Australia T20I series 2020 – 2nd T20I

England vs Australia T20I Series 2020

2nd T20I of England vs Australia T20I series 2020

2nd T20I:

Second meeting of the series of three T20I matches between England and Australia is going to be played at the Rose Bowl, Southampton on September 6th 2020.


England vs Australia T20I series 2020 – 1st T20I

Australia Tour of England History:

The teams completed 18 meetings in the shortest format of cricket, till date. Out of them, the host won 7 times and lost 9 times with one without any result and one abandoned.

On the soil of England, the teams faced each other 8 times. Out of them, the English team won 5 times, and the Australian team won just once. In fact, the visitors won only one T20I in English soil out of their 12 encounters with nine defeats including against non english-team as well.

Victory brings points:

The series is the comparison between the second rank team (England) and first rank team (Australia) team, almost a perfect series. The host is just 4 points behind the visitors.

The result of the second match will impact the team’s points as the position, as if the result will go in favor of the host then the team will gain two points and the visitors will lose the same points with position change for both the teams. Both the teams will swap their position with each other. On the other hand, in case of a reverse result, the visitors will gain two points, and the host will lose the three points. No position change for either team.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast for Southampton shows the weather would be cloudy and the possibility of showers in the initial part of the match. The precipitation percentage would be around 45% as of now, but it will be decreased with time, so there would be some but less chance of rain during the match. The temperature would be around 15 Celsius. The wind would be between 5 to 10 kmph throughout the match.

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 4 times out of 6 matches. The selection wasn’t against the teams, though the teams lost twice but won twice as well. On the other hand, the team chose to field first after winning the toss just twice and both the times, the team lost the matches. Though, the last time the team won the match after winning the toss was in 2006.

Particularly, for England, the team won the toss just twice out of 6 times, and the teams won just once with the other one lost.

The first batting team won the matches four times. Whereas, the teams, who batted second, won twice.

The lowest defended total was 162, in the recent encounter, at the venue. On the other hand, the highest successful chase is 143 on the ground. Interesting to see, if the target will be set in between the scores.

The first inning lowest total was 140 and the highest total was 248 runs. For the second inning, the lowest total was 79 runs, whereas the highest was 209 runs.

The batting average of the first innings is 23.50 and 29.86 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other at the venue just thrice. The host won twice, whereas visitors won just once.

T20I History at Venue:

The home side has an above average record at the venue, and won four times out of 6 encounters and lost twice. Last time, the home side couldn’t win the match in 2013, as well won the toss.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


The home side could make a change and give chance to S. Curren in place of M. Wood. M. Ali could sit out and make place for J. Denly

England Eleven: T. Banton, J. Buttler, D. Malan, J. Bairstow, E. Morgan, M. Ali, S. Curren, T. Curren, J. Archer, A. Rashid, C. Jordan


The visitors would introduce their left hand pace all rounder in the upcoming game.

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, A. Finch, S. Smith, G. Maxwell, M. Stoinis, A. Carey, A. Agar, P. Cummins, M. Starc, K. Richardson, D. Sams / A. Zampa

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Ibandhu.com Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →