England vs Australia T20I series 2020 – 3rd T20I

England vs Australia T20I Series 2020

3rd T20I of England vs Australia T20I series 2020

3rd and Final T20I:

Third and last meeting of the series of three T20I matches between England and Australia is going to be played at the Rose Bowl, Southampton on September 8th 2020, the same venue.

Australia Tour of England History:

The teams completed 19 meetings in the shortest format of cricket, till date. Out of them, the host won 8 times and lost 9 times with one without any result and one abandoned.

On the soil of England, the teams faced each other 9 times. Out of them, the English team won 6 times, and the Australian team won just once. In fact, the visitors won only one T20I in English soil out of their 13 encounters with ten defeats including against non english-team as well.

Victory brings points:

The series is the comparison between the First rank team (England) and Second rank team (Australia) team, almost a perfect series. The host has the same points as the visitors.

The result of the last match will impact the team’s points as the position, as if the result will go in favor of the host then the team will gain two points and the visitors will lose three with no change in position for both the teams. On the other hand, in case of a reverse result, the visitors will gain two points, and the host will lose the same points. in this case, both the teams will swap their position with each other, one more time.


England vs Australia T20I series 2020 – 2nd T20I


Venue Weather:

Weather forecast for Southampton shows the weather would be mostly cloudy throughout the match. The precipitation percentage would be not more than 10% as of now, so there would not be much chance of rain during the match. The temperature would be between 15 to 20 Celsius. The wind would be around 10 kmph throughout the match.

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 5 times out of 7 matches. The selection didn’t favor the teams, though the teams won twice but lost thrice as well. On the other hand, the team chose to field first after winning the toss just twice and both the times, the team lost the matches. Though, the last time the team won the match after winning the toss was in 2006. It looks like a toss win lose match ground.

Particularly, for England, the team won the toss just twice out of 7 times, and the teams won just once with the other one lost.

The first batting team won the matches four times. Whereas, the teams, who batted second, won thrice.

The lowest defended total was 162, in the current series, at the venue. On the other hand, the highest successful chase is 158 on the ground. Interesting to see, if the target will be set in between the scores.

The first inning lowest total was 140 and the highest total was 248 runs. For the second inning, the lowest total was 79 runs, whereas the highest was 209 runs.

The batting average of the first innings is 23.35 and 31.00 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams:

Both the teams faced each other at the venue four times. The host won thrice, whereas visitors won just once.

T20I History at Venue:

The home side has a pretty good record at the venue, and won five times out of 7 encounters and lost twice. Last time, the home side couldn’t win the match in 2013, as well won the toss.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


The home side already won the series, so the team might give chance to its bench strength.

England Eleven: J. Denly, J. Bairstow, T. Banton, E. Morgan, S. Billings, M. Ali, S. Curren, T. Curren, J. Archer, A. Rashid, C. Jordan


The visitors would like to win the match to take back their first rank in the T20I table and so may have some change in the team.

Australia Eleven: D. Warner, A. Finch, M. Labuschagne, G. Maxwell, M. Stoinis, D. Sams / M. Marsh, A. Carey, A. Agar, P. Cummins, M. Starc, A. Tye  / K. Richardson

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Ibandhu.com Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →