Pakistan vs Zimbabwe ODI series 2020-21 — 3rd ODI

Zimbabwe Tour of Pakistan 2020-21

Pakistan vs Zimbabwe ODI series 2020

3rd ODI:

Third and final ODI of the series of three ODI matches between Pakistan and Zimbabwe is going to be played at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi on November 3rd 2020.

Zimbabwe Tour of Pakistan History:

Pakistan vs Zimbabwe ODI series 2020-21 — 2nd ODI

The teams completed 61 meetings in long limited over format. The host won 54 times, whereas the opponent won just 4 times with one ties and two without any result.

On the soil of Pakistan, the teams faced each other 21 times. out of them, the Pakistan team received victory 19 times and defeated just once, which was almost 22 years back, with one without result.

Points and Ranking:

The series is the comparison between the sixth rank (Pakistan) and fourteenth rank (Zimbabwe) team. The host is way ahead (63 points) of the visitors.

If the third ODI result will go in favor of the home side, the home side will earn one point with staying in the same position, and for visitors, neither lose a point nor change in rank. But, in case of a reverse result, the home side will lose two points with staying the same position and the visitors will earn four points with gaining one rank.

Venue Weather:

Weather forecast of Rawalpindi shows the weather would be pretty sunny and clear throughout the match. There is no chance of rain as the precipitation percentage would be almost zero. The temperature would be normal and would fluctuate between 15 to 29 Celsius. The wind would also fluctuate between 8 to 15 km/h.

Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium

Toss and Pitch:

Teams preferred to bat first after winning the toss, which happened 14 times out of 25, and the selection behaves neutral to the teams, and the teams won 7 times after selecting the batting first, and lost 7 times, as well. On the other hand, the teams who chose to field first, after winning the toss, won the matches 5 times and lost 4 times with two called off without a ball (abandoned).

Overall, 12 times the teams won the toss, won the matches and lost 11 times.

Particularly, for Pakistan, the team won the toss 10 times out of 20 times, and the teams won 7 times and lost 3 times. At the time of losing toss, the team won the match 7 times and lost twice.

The first batting team won the matches 11 times. Whereas, the teams, who batted second, won the matches 12 times.

The lowest defended total was 206 in 2005. And the highest successful chase was 278 in 2002. 

The first inning lowest total was 104 (completed innings) in 2004, and the highest total was 329 runs in 2004. For the second inning, the lowest total was 152 (completed innings) in 1996, whereas highest was 317 runs in 2004, though in losing cause.

The batting average of the first innings is 31.55 and 32.42 is for the second innings.

History Between the Teams at the Venue:

Both the teams faced each other 4 times at the venue. The host won all four games.

ODI History at Venue:

The home side has a pretty good record at the venue, and won 14 matches out of 20 encounters and lost only 5 times.

The visiting team got a chance to play 6 times at the venue, but the team is still searching for the first victory and lost 5 times with one abandoned match.

Tentative XI for both the Teams:


The home side would go couple of changes and ask F. Zaman to open and may A. Ali to sit out. K. Shah may get chance to debut in ODI.

Pakistan Eleven: F. Zaman / A. Ali, I. ul Haq, B. Azam, H. Sohail, M. Rizwan, I. Ahmed, K. Shah, I. Wasim / F. Ashraf, M. Musa, H. Rauf, S. Afridi / W. Riaz


The visitors would like to go with couple of changes and may include T. Kamunhukamwe in place of B. Chari and go with E. Chigumbura in place of T. Chisoro.

Zimbabwe Eleven: T. Kamunhukamwe / B. Chari, C. Chibhabha, C. Ervine, B. Taylor, S. Williams, W. Madhevere, S. Raza, E. Chigumbura / R. Burl / T. Chisoro, C. Mumba, R. Ngarava, B. Muzarabani

About Darshak Mehta

Darshak Mehta is regular contributor to Darshak loves to write on various topics, however he often writes stories and news on cricket.

View all posts by Darshak Mehta →